Ga verder naar de inhoud

Motion: Freedom of Movement for All: Bulgaria and Romania belong in the Schengen Area


On 8 December 2022, the Council of the European Union deliberated the joining of Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania in the Schengen Area. Croatia was unanimously accepted, however, the application of Bulgaria and Romania was vetoed by the governments of Austria and the Netherlands.

Our member organisations recognise that Bulgaria and Romania have worked hard to fulfil the necessary joining requirements that were previously agreed upon. When they finally managed to meet those goals, the response of the Council of the European Union was to deny them their rightful place in the Schengen area by virtue of two member states vetoing their accession.

Related articles & publications


Young people deserve to #BeSeenBeHeard

Press release - 04/09/2023

The Body Shop and the European Youth Forum launch a petition calling on all European governments and the European Parliament to lower the voting age to 16 for all local, regional, national and European elections.

Lublin in September: Things to do this autumn in the European Youth Capital 2023

News - 30/08/2023

Summer is almost over, but that's not changing the mood in the European Youth Capital 2023. While some of us are preparing to go back to school or university, Lublin is offering plenty of exciting events. Got no plans for this autumn? Visit this vibrant city in September for festivals and sports competitions that will make you want to stay outdoors.

Do tech companies care about young people’s wellbeing?

News - 24/08/2023

The implementation of the Digital Services Act is their chance to prove it.

Tomorrow, social media and tech companies will publish their assessments of the risk that their platforms pose to society. This is a crucial step towards transparency and accountability, but will it be enough to protect young people’s wellbeing online?